Monday’s Child Folk Poem

My Mother in Law told me about this poem when we found out I was pregnant with Mia. She would talk about the days of the week and how your child’s personality would be reflected by the day they were born. She then would sing this poem to me and I feel it has a lot of truth to it. What day of the week were you born? Does what the poem say hold truth to your character?

Monday’s Child is one of many fortune-telling songs, popular as nursery rhymes for children. It is supposed to tell a child’s character or future based on the day he or she was born and to help young children remember the days of the week.

Monday’s child is fair of face,

Tuesday’s child is full of grace,

Wednesday’s child is full of woe,

Thursday’s child has far to go,

Friday’s child is loving and giving,

Saturday’s child works hard for a living,

But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day 

Is bonny and blithe and good and gay.

Posted by

My name is Anne and I am a local mommy blogger ... Momee Friends is all about Long Island and all things local with the focus on family

2 thoughts on “Monday’s Child Folk Poem

Leave a Reply